Search This Blog

Saturday, April 23, 2011

The Books of Elsewhere: The Shadows (Vol 1)

The Shadows is the first book in Jacqueline West's The Books of Elsewhere series.The first sentence of the book reads: "Ms. McMartin was definitely dead." Olive Dunwoody, the only child of two smart mathematicians, is looking forward to exploring the old house her family has just purchased. You guessed it...this was the very house that Ms. McMartin had died in. The old house is full of antiques and art, so different from the plain apartments they have lived in before. As Olive is looking at one of the paintings, she sees a shadow moving within it. Her eyes must be playing tricks on her! Later she finds spectacles that enable her to travel into the paintings on the wall. She soon discovers a lost boy, talking cats, and dangerous spirits. The original owner of the house, the late Aldous McMartin wants his house back and he will stop at nothing to get it. Although I first labeled this as a fantasy, I quickly changed my mind as it has just enough frightening elements and suspense to make it horror/suspense for upper elementary through middle school. This is on the Texas Bluebonnet Reading List 2011-12. This would be a great recommendation for someone looking for a "scary" book. Check out the book trailer from Penguin Group USA.

No comments:

Post a Comment